Trump’s Ten Arms Sales to Taiwan, Military Rebalance in the Taiwan Strait

Despite the pending result of the U.S. presidential election, whoever wins will not change the fact that U.S. arms sales to Taiwan during the Trump administration have been lifted to the next level. In the course of the Trump administration for the last four years, not only has the number of arms sales reached ten times, but the quantity and quality of weapons sold have also exceeded the previous standards over the past 40 years. The purpose of arms sales is to counterbalance China's expanding military power in the Taiwan Strait. By backing Taiwan's self-defense capabilities, the U.S. helps deter China's ambition of military invasion, maintaining peace and stability in the region while ensuring the U.S. national interests of security are intact. 

 

It is China's continuing military expansion in recent years that prompted the Trump administration to boost support for Taiwan. Chinese People's Liberation Army (PLA) accelerates mustering over three hundred and fifty warships and submarines, including new 055 destroyers, type-075 amphibious warships, and 002/003 aircraft carriers. It also expanded the marine corps to one hundred thousand people; Its air force never stopped developing the F-20 stealth jet, F-16 fighter, and Y-20 military transport aircraft. It also hastened the development of various medium-range missiles, such as the Dongfeng 17 hypersonic missile. China's military expansion not only aims to take down Taiwan but also targets the United States.

 

Moreover, Chinese President Xi Jinping is not shy in showing his ambitions to invade Taiwan and contend with the United States. When the U.S. aircraft carrier was suffering from the onboard COVID-19 outbreak earlier this year, Xi took advantage of the void and swooped in with China's "Liaoning" aircraft carrier fleet around Taiwan. In the following months, the Chinese military aircrafts unabashedly trespassed the Taiwan Strait centerline and the Southwest Air Defense Identification Zone belonging to Taiwan. PLA has stepped up its military pressure, attempting to coerce Taiwan into submission. 

 

To counter the military imbalance across the Taiwan Strait, President Trump moved forward his first arms sales to Taiwan after taking office in June 2017, though the sales model did not break away from the past practice, with seven arms sales packaged with one commercial sale. The package consists of three offensive weapons, including AGM-88B anti-radiation missiles, AGM-154C (JSOW) combined remote attack weapons and MK-48 Mod6 AT heavy torpedoes, as well as MK46 torpedo performance enhancement and standard type II missile backup group section, long-range early warning radar maintenance case, and SLQ-32(V) 6 used for Gide ship electronic warfare system upgrades. The commercial sale is the Mk-41 vertical launch system.

 

The package mentioned above has, in fact, crossed the previous baseline of U.S. arms sales to Taiwan of "defensive weapons." It gave Taiwan the ability of “Suppression of Enemy Air Defenses” (SEAD) and the long-range standoff striking capacity. AGM-154C (JSOW) and MK-48 Mod6 AT heavy torpedoes are also weapons on active service in the U.S. military fighters and submarines.

 

Content of the next two arms sales by the Trump administration in 2018 and 2019, including C-130 and F-16 fighter parts and accessories, and Taiwanese pilots training program in the United States, were actually ongoing cases. The intentional announcements were more of a political statement than military significance. The U.S. decided to bring the deals to the open and test the waters on Beijing's reaction to U.S. policy change.

 

In July and August of 2019, Trump made successive announcements of major arms sales to Taiwan, including 108 M1A2 tanks and 66 new F-16V fighters, signalizing a breakthrough in 28 years. Even though the package was not the F-35B hidden fighter that Taiwan craves most, it helps Taiwan maintain its traditional combat capabilities. It is extra useful during non-wartime for Taiwan to monitor and counteract the PLA's aircraft's harassment.

 

In May and July 2020, successive two arms sales with significant political implications were approved again, including Taiwan's request to recertify its Patriot Advanced Capability-3 missiles and to acquire MK-48 Mod6 Advanced Technology (AT) Heavy Weight Torpedoes (HWT). Though the former was supposed to be included in the previous annual procurement plan, and the latter was simply a part of the acquired torpedoes from 2017, it is a contingency plan to ease Taiwan's navy budget. Therefore, Washington's high profile is a deliberate declaration of U.S. arms sales' policy change.

 

Between October and November this year, the most recent sales include 135 AGM-84H (SLAM-ER) air-launched cruise missiles and 11 HIMARS M142 Launchers (including 64 Army Tactical Missile Systems and 6 MS-110 Multispectral Airborne Reconnaissance System). On October 26, another sale of four hundred RGM-84L Harpoon Coastal Defense Systems and one hundred Launcher Transporter Units; on the U.S. presidential election day, the U.S. State Department made another announcement without hesitation of the sale of four MQ-9B SkyGuardian unmanned aerial systems to Taiwan. Rumor has it that Mk-62 Quickstrike Mines and M109 self-propelled howitzers are also on the list, although not yet announced. In light of their defensive nature, approval in the following review is expected.

 

In less than four years, the Trump administration's arms sales to Taiwan have significantly surpassed any previous U.S. administrations over the past 40 years, no matter quantitatively or qualitatively. Taiwan's defense capabilities have been substantially elevated and integrated on reconnaissance, combat, long-range precision, and multiple deterrence. Taiwan's military is now defensible as well as attackable.

 

The MQ-9B Marine Guardian UAV sold by the United States for the first time to its allies is equipped with a TPE-331-10 turbo engine with a payload capacity of 4,000 pounds. It is compatible with more sophisticated photoelectric detection equipment, including the ones already sold to Taiwan - MX-20 multi-spectral aiming system, SAGE 750 electronic surveillance measures (ESM), AN/DPX-7 IFF AN/DPX-7 Identification Friend or Foe (IFF) Transponder Test Requirements Documents, and Inertial Navigation System (EGI) with Anti-spoofing Module (SAASM), etc. The onboard photoelectric reconnaissance system provides all-weather and real-time high-resolution images.

 

The MQ-9B has an endurance of up to forty hours and the ability to reach the range of 6,000 nautical miles (11,000 kilometers) in distance and 40,000 feet in altitude. Also, its engine and wings are equipped with an Electro-Expulsive De-icing System (EEDS). MQ-9B will significantly boost Taiwan's capability of long-range, high-altitude aerial and maritime reconnaissance. It will also enhance Taiwan's real-time grasp of PLA's peacetime activities. It performs search and locate the target, reconnaissance and provide accurate guidance for rearguard attacks during wartime.

 

More importantly, the sale of MQ-9B comes with its supporting U.S. military satellite network and GPS, as well as its geospatial database. It will also further enhance Taiwan's C4ISR guidance and intelligence reconnaissance management. Combining the F-16 fighter aircraft's external MS-110 clip that can take all-weather high-resolution reconnaissance photos, Taiwan's military will be able to carry out cross-service joint operations.

 

The air-launched Harpoon SLAM-ER and ATACMS cruise missiles have a range of nearly 300 kilometers. F-16 mounted SLAM-ER has a combat radius of 600 kilometers, capable of long-range ground-based strikes on the PLA's eastern and southern theaters. ATACMS missiles can be used for cross-region reinforcements and anti-landing operations on the Island when co-operated with U.S. military GPS guidance and shore-mounted harpoon missiles. They can also be applied to attack various PLA amphibious ships. The total of up to 600 precision sea control and ground-launched missiles, on top of around 500 Taiwan's self-built Xiong 2, Xiong 3 ship-launched, and land-launched anti-ship missiles, will double Taiwan's anti-ship missile stingers to more than a thousand in no time.

 

After the Taiwan military is equipped with the muscles of "integrated reconnaissance and attack" and "long-distance precision," it will then have "multiple deterrence" and "offensive combining defensive" combat capabilities. Taiwan's long-range gun power can tactically deter PLA on the other side of the Strait and force the enemy to retreat northward or southward. It also means that China will be exposed to higher risk and left with more costly military options if it wishes to conquer Taiwan.

 

With those highly mobile weapons in a large amount that can be deployed separately, Taiwan stands a better chance of survival if at war. It helps Taiwan divert the risk of being destroyed in a single blow, dampening PLA's hopes of "winning the war with one battle." It is more difficult for China to take down Taiwan with joint amphibious attacks.

 

Besides the upgraded quality of weapons sold to Taiwan, the Trump administration has also made significant changes in the procedure and frequency of arms sales to Taiwan. There have been ten arms sales to Taiwan, including one in 2107, one in 2018, three in 2019, and five in 2020. However, the number of arms sales to Taiwan may no longer be the sole indicator of U.S. policy to Taiwan like it used to be. The arms sales model (except for the one in 2017) has changed into a "case-by-case" model based on allied states' needs. As long as Taiwan makes the request, Washington will send it to Congress for approval and announcement. Therefore, future observation of U.S. arms sales policy to Taiwan should focus on capacity instead of frequency.

 

Note that the Trump administration did not review its arms sales policy to Taiwan on a whim. The National Security Department of Washington had to have the strategic assessments ready and have gone through inter-departmental discussions before hatching the plan. Like the former "Taiwan friendly" White House consultant of national security John Bolton, before his resignation in August 2019, he declassified a confidential memo of the former U.S. President Reagan1982 US-China Communiqué. It is clear that Beijing's military expansion leads for the changing U.S. arms sales policy to Taiwan.

 

Reagan pointed out in the memorandum that the U.S. willingness to reduce its arms sales to Taiwan is conditioned absolutely upon the continued commitment of China to the peaceful solution of the Taiwan-PRC differences. It is essential that the quantity and quality of the arms provided to Taiwan be conditioned entirely on the threat posed by the PRC. In quantitative and qualitative terms, Taiwan's defense capability relative to that of the PRC will be maintained.

 

At the end of August 2020, the American Institute in Taiwan (AIT) released two declassified cables. The first one was sent on July 10, 1982, from then U.S. Under Secretary of State Lawrence Eagleburger to then AIT Director James Lilley. The cable explains that the U.S. willingness to reduce its arms sales to Taiwan is conditioned upon the continued commitment of the PRC to a peaceful solution of cross-Strait differences. Further, if the PRC were to become more hostile, then the United States would increase arms sales to Taiwan. AIT elaborates that the United States' chief concern was maintaining peace across the Taiwan Strait, and thus, the quantity and quality of arms provided to Taiwan would be conditioned entirely on the threat posed by the PRC.

 

Compared with the Obama administration, which "never saw the elephant in the room" ( i.e., ignoring the growing threat from China), the Trump administration has just begun to face the reality that China has covertly stepped up its threat against the U.S. The stability in the Taiwan Strait is in the United States' national interest; hence Washington needs to speed up its arms sales to Taiwan to mitigate the ever-growing discrepancy of military power between China and Taiwan. Hence prevention of Taiwan's annexation by China, which will eventually infringe upon the United States' national security and interests.

 

As for the concern that U.S. arms sales may cripple Taiwan's defense independence, the ultimate solution depends upon Taiwan's national defense resources and technology strength. Suppose Taiwan's defense resources can be appropriately allocated and is capable of developing weapons that outperform purchased ones. In that case, Taiwan can surely enjoy the indigenous options alone with foreign acquisitions, or even better, be self-sufficient. However, if the military authority remains lopsided to outsourcing, it can only indicate that its research and development capability is not yet up to par. Especially in the face of a growing threat from China, weaponry capacity holds the key to the final decision.

 

The pending U.S. presidential election result raises Taiwan's anxiety level because of the possible arms sale policy change following a new Washington administration. However, it takes only a careful inventory to realize that the sum of arms sold to Taiwan during Trump's administration has almost matched the Taiwan military’s wishing list in the past ten years. Even if Trump gets re-elected, Taiwan will have no imminent military requisition need except for some F-35B fighters, KC-135 Stratotankers, Aegis combat systems (or JASSM-ER or LRASM), and MH-53 anti-submarine helicopters.

 

Even if Biden wins the election and puts off major weapons sales to Taiwan in the near future, Taiwan and the U.S. will be able to maintain their military exchanges and cooperation to a certain extent because of the set training, technical transfer, and assembling programs that came with the sealed deals during Trump's tenure. Let alone the fact that the budget worthy of US$18 billion will take several years to implement. The military also needs to accomplish the recruitment, installation, and training before these weapons' full potential can be unlocked.

 

 

Safeguarding Taiwan's security, in essence, relies on Taiwan itself. In addition to military acquisitions from the U.S., Taiwan needs to accelerate its reforms on strategic mindset, military service system, and reserve mobilizations. Aside from upgrading battle hardware, the bolstering of Taiwan's national morale and willpower is even more critical in the face of China's military threat. A united front is much needed for Taiwan to avoid being annexed by China. Naturally, Taiwan's general public anticipates Washington's consistent arm sale policies if Baden turns out to be the winner. Taiwan needs continuous support from the U.S. to ensure peace and stability in the Taiwan Strait.

Login

Login Success

川普十度对台军售 台海军力的再平衡

美国总统大选结果还未最后底定,但无论明年一月华府由谁主政,过去川普政府任内对台军售的实质提升都已是不争的事实。川普总统除在不到四年内对台军售频率高达十次,售台武器的性能和质量,也大幅跨越40年来美国对台军售的设限和水准。川普政府强化对台军售的目的,无疑是对台海两岸军力的再平衡,借由协助台湾强化自我防卫能力,吓阻中共武力入侵和的企图,以确保台海和平稳定,同时也维护美国国家安全利益。

川普政府为何要强化对台军售?最关键因素,正是因为中共解放军近年不断扩增军备,包括加速打造包括新型055大型驱逐舰、075两栖攻击舰和002/003航母等多达350艘舰艇的海上舰队,同时将陆战队兵力扩编到10万人,空军也持续发展歼20匿踪战机、歼16歼击机和运20运输机等,另还加速发展东风17高超音速飞弹等各式中程导弹,除作为统一台湾的武力后盾,长期目标更是剑指美国。

更有甚者,中共国家主席习近平对于武统台湾和击败美国的野心毫不遮掩,今年(2020年)还借武汉肺炎疫情美军航母舰队染疫之际,趁机派“辽宁号”航母舰队绕台并入南海军演,除恫吓台湾,也是企图“以疫谋霸”取代美国;随后几个月内,中共军机也数度大胆跨越台海中线,并开始持续骚扰入侵台湾西南防空识别区,刻意加大对台军事压力,谋求用恫吓方式对台“以武促统”。

有鉴于两岸军力逐渐失衡,川普总统上任后在2017年6月首度通过对台军售,不过这次军售仍沿用过去包裹模式,以七项军售外加一项商售的方式,首度售台AGM-88B反辐射飞弹、AGM-154C(JSOW)联合防区外遥攻武器和MK-48 Mod6 AT重型鱼雷等三项攻击性武器,另外还有MK46鱼雷性能提升、标准二型飞弹备份组段、长程预警雷达维持案,以及SLQ-32(V)6用于纪德舰电战系统升级等,外加商售Mk-41垂直发射系统。

这批武器,其实已跨越过去美国对台军售“防卫性武器”的限制,让台湾具备防空制压作战(SEAD)的攻击战力,以及防区外远距打击能力,得以攻击对岸解放军防空导弹雷达以及机场和指挥所,AGM-154C(JSOW)和MK-48 Mod6 AT重型鱼雷也都是美军战机和潜舰配备的现役武器。

随后川普政府在2018年和2019年公布的两项军售案,包括C-130和F-16等战机零附件和台湾飞官赴美培训计划,则都是持续案,也就是原本已在进行中的军售案,美国国务院刻意再对外公布一次,其政治意涵要高于军事意义,目的在展现美国对台军售透明化,同时也测试美国对台军售改为个案审查公布模式后北京的反应。

到了2019年七月和八月,川普连续两个月先后公布售台重大武器载台,包括108辆M1A2战车和66架F-16V新战机,后者是睽违28年之久后,美国再度对台出售全新战机载台,虽然并非台湾希望获得的F-35B匿踪战机,但已被视为是美国对台军售的一大突破,仍有助于台湾军方保持传统战力,特别是非战时能维持对中共军机对台进逼和骚扰的监控和反制能力。

另在2020年五月和七月,再度通过两项同样是象征性大于实质意义的军售项目,包括爱国者三型飞弹延寿案和MK-48鱼雷增购案,前者应纳入先前采购爱三飞弹的分年计划中,无须单独公开宣布;后者则是台湾军方刻意将2017年获得的鱼雷数量分批采购,以缓和海军预算压力,因而也属华府刻意对外公开,突显美国对台军售模式已经转变。

而近期从十月到十一月,川普政府接连三度再宣布对台军售,包括十月21日一次售台三项武器包括135枚AGM-84H(SLAM-ER)空射鱼叉飞弹、11套M142海马仕多管火箭(含64枚M57战术导弹ATACMS)和六具MS-110全天候空照夹舱;十月26日再同意售台400枚RGM-84L岸置鱼叉飞弹、百辆飞弹发射车;在美国总统大选投票日,更豪不忌讳地进一步宣布售台四架MQ-9B海上卫士(SeaGuardian)无人机。而外传在清单中还有MK-62空投快攻水雷和M109A6自走炮两项,虽仍未公布,但因这两项装备属防卫性,后续审查也应会顺利过关。

川普政府在不到四年时间,售台武器装备的性能和项量,已大幅超越过去40年来所有前任美国政府的水准,对于台湾防卫战力的提升,简单来说,可用“侦打一体、远距精准、重层吓阻、攻守兼备”来形容。

其中美国首度对盟邦出售的MQ-9B海上卫士无人机,配备了TPE-331-10涡轮发动机,酬载能力达4000磅,可搭载更多更精密的光电侦搜装备,包括这次售台的MX-20多光谱瞄准系统、SAGE 750电子监视措施(ESM)、AN/DPX-7 IFF询答机和抗干扰模式(SAASM)的惯性导航系统(EGI)等,机上光电侦搜系统可提供全天候和即时的高解析度影像。

另MQ-9B滞空时间最长可达40小时,航程最远可到1.1万公里;加上发动机和机翼都具有自动除冰系统,飞行高度可达4万呎高空,将有利于台湾周边海空域的远距、高空和海上侦搜,在平时将大幅提升台湾对解放军的即时敌情动态掌握,在战时则可做为打击目标的搜索、跟监和定位,提供后方火力攻击时的精确导引。

更重要的是,售台MQ-9B其背后支援的美军卫星链路和军规GPS系统,以及美台可能分享的地理空间资料库等软体支援,将进一步提升台湾军方的C4ISR指管通情监侦等战场管理能力,另加上同样可进行全天候高解析度侦照的F-16战机外挂MS-110夹舱,台湾军方未来得以实现A看B打的“侦打一体”海陆空联合作战目标。

另空射鱼叉SLAM-ER和ATACMS导弹,射程将近300公里,前者由至少有600公里作战半径的F-16战机挂载,可对解放军东部和南部战区进行远距对地源头打击;ATACMS导弹除可用于本岛跨区增援和反登陆作战,配合美方提供军规GPS导引,加上岸置鱼叉飞弹,都可用于袭击逼近台湾的解放军两栖各式船舰,而这些总数高达600枚的精准制海和对地飞弹,加上台湾国造的雄二、雄三舰射、陆射反舰飞弹原本已有约500枚,将让台湾的反舰飞弹刺针,在短期内倍增两倍达千枚以上。

具备“侦打一体”和“远距精准”能力后,也意味国军将拥有“重层吓阻”和“攻守兼备”的战力;这些长射程的火力,除可在战术上威胁解放军在对岸集结的渡海兵力,让其必须向台海南北后撤,也意味解放军若要度海攻台,必须以更远距离和更长时间,并在更高风险和更大代价下渡海运送兵力,大幅增加其犯台失败的风险。

加上这些高机动性、数量庞大又可以分散部署的武器装备,在战场有较高存活率,也将让共军无法对台一击就垮,其对台“首战即决战”的理想目标更难以达成,以海空联犯的两栖模式夺台难度也将更高。

除了售台武器质量的提升,川普政府对台军售的模式和频率也有重大转变,至今合计已有高达十次对台军售,包括2107年一次、2018年一次、2019年三次、2020年五次。不过,对台军售次数恐怕已不能再如过去一样被视为对台军售是否提升的指标,因为除了2017年的一次,仍沿用华府过去对台的包裹式军售,其后对台军售模式,已完全改成比照军售盟邦的个案审查(case by case)模式,只要台湾提作战需求,华府经评估审查即送国会同意并公布,因此具体对台军售武器的性能,才是日后美国对台军售政策走向的观察重点。

此外,川普政府重新检讨对台军售政策,也绝非即兴之作,华府国安部门应早有战略评估,并经跨部门讨论才形成政策依据,像是对台友好的前白宫国家安全顾问波顿(John Bolton)在2019年8月去职前,就特别解密一份由前美国总统雷根针对1982年美中《八一七公报》的机密备忘录档案,其目的即在让北京清楚认知,美国对台军售政策转变的原因,正是因为其扩大对台武力威胁所造成。

雷根在备忘录中明确指出,中国必须和平解决两岸问题,另美国对台军售须视两岸军力平衡而为。也就是说,如果中国和平解决两岸分歧,《八一七公报》关于美国同意逐步递减对台军售质量的内容,才有可能发生;至于美国对台军售武器的性能和数量,则完全取决于中国的军事威胁,而台湾的防卫能力,也必须保持等同中国军力的水准。

另在2020年8月底,美国在台协会AIT更进一步公布两份解密电报,其中一则1982年7月10日由时任美国国务院次卿伊格尔伯格发给时任美国AIT处长李洁明电文中,也清楚说明“美方逐步减少对台军售的意愿,取决于中华人民共和国和平解决两岸分歧的持续承诺。若中华人民共和国采取敌对侵略的态度,或建立军事投射能力、导致区域的不安全或不稳定,美国将增加对台军售。”AIT还特别解释,美国的立场主要关切为维持两岸的权力平衡,对台军售的性能和数量完全取决于中华人民共和国带来的威胁。

相较过去的欧巴马政府“一直没看见房间里的大象”(意味无视中国威胁的扩大),川普政府只是开始正视中国早已悄然扩大的对美威胁,其中台海和平因攸关美国的国家利益,所以华府必须加速对台军售,让台海军力得以再平衡,以避免两岸军力失衡进一步扩大,最后导致台湾遭到中国武力并吞,并进而侵害美国的国家安全和利益。

至于美国对台军售可能对台湾国防自主造成的影响,回归基本面,一切还是取决于国防预算资源和技术能量。如果国防资源分配得宜、国造武器性能不输外购,不仅可以国造、外购并行,甚至可以国造取代外购;但若最终作战部门仍选择外购而舍弃国造,也代表特定国造武器系统的研发,仍无法满足作战需求或缺乏效益,特别是在面对日渐紧迫的共军武力威胁下,武器性能恐怕还是军方最后取舍外购或国造的现实关键。

最后,由于美国总统大选结果迟未尘埃落定,台湾内部也忧虑华府政党可能又会让未来美国对台军售政策更弦易辙。不过仔细盘点川普任内过去已经售台的武器项目,其实这一大批武器已算是台湾军方过去十余年来希望获得的武器总合,就算川普连任,除了F-35B战机、KC-135空中加油机、神盾战斗系统或射程更远的JASSM-ER或LRASM远距公路或反舰巡弋飞弹,以及MH-53反潜直升机等,台湾军方短期内也应无迫切急需的采购项目。

所以,如果最后美国总统是由民主党拜登当选,就算短期内未再售台重要武器,但借由川普任内这些对台军售项目相关训练、技转和接装,美台军方间仍会保持一定程度的军事交流和合作。更重要的是,目前已确定获得的武器,在未来几年内,还需分年消化这些合计约180亿美元的军购预算;而且军方内部也须加速先选员、接装和训练,才能让这批武器真正发挥战力。

台海安全的防卫,根本之道本当然要靠台湾自己。除了对美军购之外,台湾军方内部也有军中文化、兵役制度和后备动员等军事革新须持续加速进行。而除了实质战力的武器硬体升级外,提升台湾军民士气和信心意志,则是因应中共武统威胁的更重要课题,台湾内部社会也必须凝聚共识,才能避免遭到中国并吞。当然,台湾内部多数民意还是期待,即便是由拜登接任总统,华府也能继续秉持川普政府的对台军售政策,才能维持台海的和平稳定。

吴明杰  军事专栏作家

本文观点不代表国策研究院立场

登入

登入成功