Recent Adjustments in U.S. Military Deployments in Asia-Pacific

Recent Adjustments in U.S. Military Deployments in Asia-Pacific

Introduction

Following the 2020 Taiwan Presidential Election, the world has been suffering the impact of non-conventional threats. Interaction between nations, economic or diplomatic, has come to a standstill because of the outbreak of the COVID-19 Pandemic. China and the U.S., among the most seriously affected countries, are no exceptions. Despite that, the two countries do not slacken their show of force against each other, with China’s People’s Liberation Army (PLA) launching a string of drills in the Western Pacific region while the U.S. military making some new strategic adjustments for the region. All these developments only make the Asia-Pacific region remain a place with turbulent undercurrents running against each other. 

Post-pandemic Asia-Pacific Situation

After Donald Trump took office as U.S. President, relations between the U.S. and China have been strained most of the time but the two sides still follow the rule of “fighting without breaking” and are thus able to avoid a full-scale military confrontation. Despite the trade war and war of words between them, especially their differences over the long-running Hong Kong protests starting in June 2019, the two countries still continue engaging with each other through dialogue and negotiation. However, antagonizing the other side militarily and politically remains the “main characteristic” of recent Sino-U.S. interaction. The outbreak of the COVID-19 Pandemic has further deepened inherent conflicts between the two countries. These conflicts, in the wake of recent U.S. military deployment adjustments and the PLA’s corresponding responses, have gradually been turned from war of words between leaders of the two countries into concrete military moves.

Right after the 2020 Taiwan Presidential Election, the PLA, in a departure from its normal practice at a juncture of the kind, started to actively enhance its readiness for war and military exercises. Its dispatch of Liaoning carrier-led naval ships to conduct “far-sea long-voyage” missions in sea areas surrounding Taiwan after the Lunar New Year period sparked much discussion. In its editorial entitled “As the world enters an eventful year, Taiwan should take care” on April 10, 2020, China’s Global Times sent a clear message to Taiwan by referring to this famous quote “Don’t say I didn’t warn you” in the conclusion. The same quote had been used by the Chinese media several times before, all prior to the start of a war, such as the 1969 Sino-Soviet Border Conflict (Zhenboa Island Incident), the Sino-Indian War of 1962 and the Sino-Vietnamese War of 1979. It represents an ultimatum. Notably, as the U.S. military suffers a temporary drop in combat strength because of sailors infected with the virus, whether the PLA will take advantage of the occasion to take action is something we are worried about.

Notwithstanding the confirmed cases of infection, the U.S. military has demonstrated its prowess in the Asia Pacific region by a series of moves starting after the Lunar New Year period, ranging from naval ships cruising through the Taiwan Strait, drills in the South China Sea, to B-52 bombers and electronic reconnaissance planes flying to the vicinity of Taiwan. These moves have certainly prompted responses from China. As a result of the confirmed cases of infection, some U.S. naval ships, especially aircraft carriers, were unable to operate normally. However, according to our current projection for the most possible form of conflict between China and the U.S., aircraft carriers are no longer a decisive factor. And some infected sailors got the infection after disembarking, not likely to result in cluster infections on board. Under such circumstances, combat strength of a ship could be restored quickly. Moreover, the U.S. military has changed a lot in its mode of operations at sea, capable of posing a considerable threat to the PLA with its underwater forces (like submarines) or shore-based strike power (like land-based anti-ship missiles), the performance of which is based on data links with allies (like Japan and Australia). It means that even if U.S. carriers suffer a temporary drop in combat power because of the pandemic, it is too subjective to consider the U.S. military will create a power vacuum for the PLA to take advantage of. 

U.S. Military Deployments in Asia Pacific

U.S. military deployments in the Asia Pacific region are directly related to advances in military technology. The U.S. still maintains its Freedom of Navigation operations as part of its continued concern for the Indo-Pacific region. Starting from 2019, it has responded to China’s combined use of coast guard ships and maritime militia vessels by sending coast guard cutters to escort U.S. naval ships cruising in waters surrounding China, forming a so-called “high-low-mix.” It is aimed as a flexible response to China’ s diversified use of all armed elements available so that a head-on confrontation with China’s armed forces can be avoided. These moves have effectively achieved the effects of “national flag display” and “gunboat diplomacy,” but they tend to have “diminishing marginal utility” after having been used against China for too many times. It is especially because China now sends ships and electronic reconnaissance planes to follow U.S. warships passing through the region. Sometimes first-line commanders may make wrong judgments because of varying conditions at sea, likely to spark a conflict accidentally. Oceanographic conditions are always a great challenge to seafarers of all countries. Therefore for the U.S. military, passing through the Taiwan Strait has limited effects. In recent months, U.S. naval ships have passed through the Strait in a high-profile manner, which included making their passage known to the public through the Internet and media or turning on automatic identification signals. It is meant to intimidate China through a combined use of tangible and intangible means and to serve as a “reassurance” to U.S. allies in the Asia Pacific.

It should be noted that the U.S., besides dispatching naval ships to the Asia Pacific region, also conducts joint military exercises with allies in the region and maintains constant military exchanges with them. The aim is to form a new “containment” strategy toward China and prompt U.S. allies in the region to bring into play their “regional defense” functions, which can not only reduce the number of troops the U.S. needs to deploy but also effectively save defense expenditure for the U.S. Many military drills originally scheduled for 2020 have been cancelled due to the pandemic. However, quite a few exercises held in the second half of 2019 serve as examples that show the development mentioned above is already underway. In the middle of October 2019, for example, the U.S., the Philippines, and Japan jointly launched an exercise in the South China Sea, which included some common types of maneuver and, most importantly, amphibious landing drills. The content of the exercise showed that it was meant as a response to a potential armed conflict in the South China Sea. A joint military exercise between the U.S., the Philippines and Japan in May 2019 and the many military cooperation programs between the U.S. and Australia in recent years are all part of the “Indo-Pacific Strategy” of the U.S. The U.S. has been emphasizing its “Free and Open Indo-Pacific Strategy,” but the precondition for it is assured military security. It is the reason why the U.S. holds joint military exercises with countries in the Indo-Pacific region. 

Links to U.S. Military’s Operational Systems and Joint Exercises

As a matter of fact, traditional joint military exercises, besides serving military cooperation purposes, are mainly intended to strengthen ties between allies and their diplomatic interaction. Although some joint exercises carry more diplomatic meanings than military ones, they are still significant from a military perspective. This has something to do with some new types of war that the U.S. is getting itself ready for.

In the third offset strategy that the U.S. came up with in 2014, unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), cyber warfare, network-centric warfare that goes through systems, and application of new technology like space technology to the battlefield are singled out as ways to deal with global changes. Under the guide of this strategy, different services of the U.S. military have developed their own unique strike modes, such as Penetrating Counter Air of the air force, Naval Integrated Fire Control-Counter Air and Distributed Lethality Concept of the navy, and Multi-Domain Battle of the army. These new concepts will produce new types of war for the U.S. military in the future. Technology and information are to be integrated in a better way so as to win next-generation war with technological superiority. Similar ideas have been put into practice in the joint military exercises that the U.S. held with allies in recent years.

The evolution of war types and the integration of intelligence, reconnaissance and surveillance systems have turned the former coordination between services into joint operations between them. An effective integration of all military forces, ranging from army, air force, navy to electronic warfare elements, will ensure a victory by moving ahead of the enemy. Therefore, how to effectively integrate our own forces and even promote cooperation with allies may be more important than matching the opponent in quantity. The U.S. now relies on its joint operations systems based on advanced reconnaissance and surveillance systems. In the event of war, the U.S. does not need to have a physical presence on the battlefield. It just needs to send target information gathered from its systems to friendly troops who can launch precision strikes as long as they get the information sent from the U.S. through data links. Similar concepts of operations have been put to the test in the U.S.-led 2018 Rim of the Pacific (RIMPAC) Exercise.

In the 2018 RIMPAC Exercise, the U.S. military demonstrated its Multi-Domain Battle capability, which lies in forming a Multi-Domain Task Force made up of forces from different services, a task grouping based on mission demands. The task force may even involve troops of allies. In the exercise, the U.S. military worked jointly with its Australian counterpart, with an Australian E-8A providing target information to High Mobility Artillery Rocket Systems (HIMARs) of the U.S. Army and land-based anti-ship missile units of Japan Ground Self-Defense Force (JGSDF), which launched missiles against targets while U.S. submarines also fired torpedoes and anti-ship missiles to ensure destruction of the targets. In the “Orient Shield” Exercise between U.S. Army and JGSDF in September 2019, the concept of Multi-Domain Battle was realized in the form of a combination of land-based artillery and shore-based anti-ship missiles.

It means that in a potential armed conflict in the region in the future, the U.S. does not need to maintain a physical presence. It just needs to ensure that operational systems of allies can support each other to achieve combat purposes. Of course, allies also need to upgrade their operational systems and platforms to be able to link to the U.S. military. New concepts of operations shall be needed to accomplish the objectives mentioned above. 

Recent U.S. Military Deployments in Asia-Pacific

The U.S. military now demonstrates its strength by a frequent presence in the Asia-Pacific region, a move starting since February 2020. The actual number of troops that the U.S. military can deploy for the moment may drop down a little bit because of the pandemic, but in terms of integration of new technology-enabled operation systems of allies, the U.S. has taken a step further, leading to an increase in fire projection. After all, there is no need for the U.S. to occupy China, let alone have a total war with the PLA. On the part of China, the strategic goal is just to safeguard its interests in the Asia-Pacific region, with no intention to defeat the U.S. at all. Chinese President Xi Jinping had even said, “The Pacific Ocean is big enough to accommodate two countries.” Therefore, on the part of the U.S., the goal is to achieve “offshore balancing” through fire projection at a low cost and curb the PLA’s force projection in a way that the PLA can not easily cross the First Island Chain into the Pacific Ocean.

Nevertheless, the PLA’s growing strength, as seen from the various kinds of medium-range ballistic missiles that the Rocket Force has in its inventory, may not be enough for the PLA to launch a strike against U.S. carriers, but still quite enough if the targets are U.S. bases on Guam or in Japan. It is the reason why the U.S. military starts moving some units backwards. After all, the U.S. military has been transformed to transcend the Cold War-era strategy that sought to intimidate the enemy through forward deployment of troops to offshore bases. Instead, highly-mobile small units, which are rapid reaction forces with high-tech equipment and strong fire power, have become the replacement. Therefore, the newest strategic adjustments of the U.S. military demonstrate this mode of thinking: There is no need to place troops in forward bases likely to suffer first waves of attacks and it is better to reserve strength in rear areas. What should be deployed to the frontline is electronic reconnaissance equipment and shore-based firepower. Deployment of troops is now based on the “Dynamic Force Employment” concept, which makes it harder for outsiders to predict how troops are deployed and what missions they are tasked with. Given the condition, it is impossible for the potential enemy to locate the target and launch an attack. This may be the reason why the U.S. has withdrawn from the Intermediate-range Nuclear Forces Treaty. During the Cold War, the U.S. depended on inter-continental ballistic missiles to reach a balance of terror with Soviet Union. However, in the current strategic context, intermediate-range ballistic missiles, if deployed on some islands in the Pacific Ocean and certain Asian countries, could pose a real threat to China.

In recent months, B-52 bombers and electronic warfare aircraft of the U.S. military had flown over areas close to China’s territorial waters, an apparent show of force to China. Even if the B-52 bombers based on Guam have totally withdrawn, the U.S. military can gain instead an advantageous position by not placing all those planes in one single base. With a possible deployment of intermediate-range ballistic missiles in the future, Guam may be turned into a fire projection base rather than a force projection one. At the same time, capabilities of forces of U.S. allies in the region are also to be strengthened. A security network can be established in the Asia Pacific region through integration of information systems and military sales, such as the SM-3 missile that AIT Chairman James Moriarty mentioned during his recent visit to Taiwan. Taiwan has a vital role to play in the network. 

Conclusion:

Taiwan's Role For Taiwan, the PLA has always been a threat regardless of cross-strait relations. Although the PLA activities in the neighborhood of Taiwan may not be necessarily be targeted at Taiwan since they can be caused by entanglements in international relations, Taiwan does feel the threat. Some people even argue that as the PLA has extended its force projection range (of the navy and the Rocket Force) to somewhere beyond the First Island Chain, whether Taiwan can still play the role of an unsinkable carrier and remain a pivot of the First Island Chain is in doubt. If the PLA exchanges fire with the U.S. military between the First and Second Island Chains, the Taiwan military can be of help by bringing into play its geographic position like that in the interior lines of operations, helping troops of friendly countries deal a heavier blow to the PLA. It is similar to the Guadalcanal campaign in the Pacific War during World War II. Initially the U.S. troops did not gain control of the sea surrounding the island of Guadalcanal. They were even unable to intercept Japan ships, collectively known as “Tokyo Express,” sailing from Rabaul to deliver supplies. However, they controlled the airport on Guadalcanal, which they quickly restored after having been bombarded by the Combined Fleet of the Japanese Imperial Navy several times. The airport was used to gain an advantage over the Japanese navy, successfully keeping the Combined Fleet at bay. Control of the airport was key to the final triumph, making it possible for the U.S. military to maintain force projection capabilities (of the navy and air force). So, how to maintain combat capacity after the first wave of attacks from the PLA will be of vital importance to Taiwan. Taiwan needs to ensure that its air power, land-based anti-ship missiles and naval fleets can survive the attacks. We may even share battlefield information with allies. This is the regional cooperation between countries that the U.S. has been underscoring in promoting its strategy for the region in recent years. It is expected that integration of resources of allies and sharing information and intelligence between allies will achieve synergy effects to pose a considerable threat to the PLA and maintain peace and security in the Asia-Pacific region.

Dr. Ying-Yu Lin[林穎佑]

Adjunct Assistant Professor, National Chung Cheng University Institute of Strategy and International Affairs

Conclusions and recommendations of Taiwan Perspective articles are solely those of their authors, and do not reflect the views of INPR.

Login

Login Success

近期美國亞太軍力新調整

近期美國亞太軍力新調整

一、 前言 隨著我國總統大選的結束,世界遭遇了非傳統威脅的極大衝擊,無論是經濟、外交、各國互動都因為疫情的關係而陷入停滯,自然也包括疫情嚴重衝擊的中國大陸與美國。雖說如此,兩國並未停止軍事上的角力,無論是解放軍近期在西太平洋的演訓,或是美軍的新戰略調動,都讓亞太地區依然暗潮洶湧。

二、 疫情的衝擊後的亞太局勢

從川普上任以來,美中之間的矛盾不斷發生。但雙方都還是秉持著「鬥而不破」的原則,並未全面發生軍事衝突,雖在貿易戰、政治口水戰甚至是在2019年6月開始的香港議題上,都讓美中雖然持續有對話與協商,但對抗與鬥爭是美中互動的基本「主旋律」,甚至一直到近期的新型冠狀病毒疫情的影響,都讓美中兩邊的矛盾日益加深,而這些矛盾也隨著美軍的調動與近期解放軍的反應,逐漸從雙方領導人的外交言詞駁火,演變成具體的軍事行動。

在我國總統大選之後,解放軍一反常態的積極備戰操演,甚至在農曆年後,透過遠海長航、遼寧號航艦編隊等海空兵力在我國周遭海域的演訓都引起相當大的討論,特別是中國媒體《環球時報》在2020年4月10日的文章(世界進入多事之秋,台當局悠著點!)中最後以「勿謂言之不預也」作為結語。需注意的是,過去中國媒體使用此句話時,都代表最後通牒。如在1962年中印戰爭、1969年珍寶島衝突、1979年懲越戰爭中,都有在使用這些字句的紀錄。值得注意的是,在疫情打擊之下,美軍航艦陸續出現船員確診的狀況,令戰力受到相當大的折損,因此這是否給予解放軍發動軍事行動的空間?

雖說美軍有不少確診案例,但自農曆新年後,美軍在亞太地區有相當多的軍事行動:無論是軍艦穿越海峽、艦艇在南海的演習、B-52轟炸機、美軍電子偵察機的飛行、B1轟炸機的逼近,這些都代表美軍在亞太地區依然保有影響力。即便因疫情美軍航艦無法全部出動,但在當前的作戰想定中,航艦早已不是決定性的關鍵,且部份航艦是水兵離艦之後發生的染疫問題,事實上並無發生具體的群聚感染,隨著時間變化,美軍已經在2020年五月逐漸恢復戰力。因此美軍部隊總數或許略有縮編,但實力卻無減少,當前的部隊移動或許與美國新的戰略布局有關。

三、 美國的亞太軍事布局

美國在印太的戰略布局與其軍事科技的進步有直接的關係。雖然美艦持續透過航行自由行動來表達對印太區域的重視,特別是在2019年開始,隨著中國海警部隊的整併與海上民兵的積極運用,美國海軍的船隻在前往中國周遭海域行動時,不會只有海軍的船艦,多半都伴隨著美國海岸巡防隊的艦隻。透過此種「高低配」的方式,可以在面對中國武裝力量的多樣化運用時有效運用執法部隊的彈性,來避免與中國部隊正面衝突。這些行動雖然有效的達到海軍外交中的「展示國旗」與「炮艦外交」的目的。但對於中國而言一旦次數過於頻繁,自然會出現「邊際效用遞減」的現象,特別是當美艦經過時,中國勢必也會派出艦隻追蹤,並同時進行電子偵搜,甚至在海上的情況都有可能會因為第一線指揮官的誤判而出現擦槍走火,或因為海象的變化,對各國海上部隊都是一大挑戰。因此對美軍而言,單純的穿越海峽效益有限,近日更配合網路媒體,或是開啟航行訊號,大張旗鼓的通過台海周遭,期望藉由虛實整合的手段除嚇阻中國外,也能收到給與亞太盟邦「再保證」的效用。

須注意的是,美國除派遣自身的艦隊之外,也積極與盟邦部隊進行聯合演習與軍事交流。最直接的目的在於期望形成新的「圍堵」戰略,同時也希望藉由實兵的操演,能讓盟邦發揮「區域聯防」的作用,能減少美軍投入的兵力並有效節省預算。雖說2020年起,因疫情的影響許多演習都因此取消,但從2019年下半年起的諸多演習中,都可看到上述的跡象。如在2019年10月中,美國、菲律賓、日本在南海舉行的聯合海上演習,除了一般海上操演之外,更加入了兩棲登陸演習,這些科目都與可能在南海發生的潛在軍事衝突有關。2019年5月美日印菲的多國聯合軍演,以及近年美國與澳洲的諸多軍事合作,都是印太戰略中的一環。即便美國一再強調「一個自由、開放的印太戰略」(Free and Open Indo-Pacific Strategy, FOIPS),但自由開放的前提是軍事上安全的確保,這也是美國與印太區域國家舉行聯合軍演的目的。

四、 美軍作戰系統的介接與聯合作戰

事實上,傳統的聯合軍演除了軍事合作的目的之外,主要的目的還是在強化盟友關係與外交互動。雖說部份聯合軍演的外交意義大於軍事,但若從軍事作戰的角度來看,卻內含相當的意涵,這也與美軍在進行的新型態戰爭有關。 2014年美國所提出的第三次抵消戰略中更為強調無人載具、網路戰、以及透過系統進行的網狀化作戰、太空科技等新科技在戰場上的應用,來面對全球的轉變。美國各軍種也依據此指導之下發展各自的打擊方式,如美國空軍所提出的穿透式制空(Penetrating Counter Air,PCA);海軍則是提出海軍綜合防空火控系統(NavalIntegrated Fire Control-Counter Air,NIFC-CA)、分佈式打擊概念(Distributed Lethality Concept);以及陸軍的多領域作戰(Multi-Domain Battle)等概念都會大幅改變未來美軍的作戰形態,並透過科技將資訊與火力作出更有效的結合,發揮技術優勢進行下一代戰爭。類似的觀念也具體的發生在美軍近年與盟國之間的聯合軍演。

就現今的戰爭演進,情偵監系統的整合讓過去的軍種協同作戰已逐漸轉變成為聯合作戰的模式,如何有效整合陸海空電戰等各種軍事力量,才能制敵機先。因此,如何有效整合兵力甚至盟邦合作,可能比單純的數量還重要。美軍現今的作戰是仰賴其先進的監偵系統所打造的聯戰體系,因此在作戰時,美軍不必出動實兵,只要透過系統的整合將情資目標傳送給友軍,而友軍部隊只要能在數據鏈上與美國系統連線,就有可能進行精確打擊,類似的作戰概念已經在2018年美國主導的環太平洋演習(RIMPAC)中逐步驗證。

在2018 RIMPAC裡美軍已經展現其「多領域作戰」的能力,其主要意涵在於將各軍種的部隊都是任務需求混編成為「多領域特遣隊」,其中甚至可以包含盟國的軍隊。在此次RIMPAC中美軍就與澳軍合作,由澳軍P-8A提供目標的數據資料再由美國陸軍高機動砲兵火箭系統(HIMARS)與日本陸上自衛隊的反艦飛彈連隊發射岸基反艦飛彈搭配水下的美軍潛艦發射魚雷與反艦飛彈擊沉目標。而在2019年9月美國陸軍與日本陸上自衛隊所進行的東方之盾演習,也納入多領域作戰的概念,將岸基砲兵與反艦飛彈結合。

這代表在未來可能出現的區域衝突中,美軍可以不需要出動實兵,而只要友邦間的作戰系統能互相支援,就能達成作戰目的。當然這也需要友邦提升其系統與載台裝備才能與美軍連線,完成上述的作為,實現新一代的作戰概念。在2020年的環太平洋演習,是否會有更新的概念展示?值得後續持續關注。

五、 近期美軍在亞太的軍力調動

從2020年2月開始,美軍就以高密度的行動頻率展現其在亞太的實力。雖因疫情影響,導致美軍在實際的兵力人數上可能略有下降,但在新科技與盟國系統的整合上卻讓美軍在火力投射上有所超越。畢竟對現在的美國而言,美國沒有要佔領中國大陸的必要,更沒有要與解放軍進行總體戰爭的意圖,甚至對中共而言,中國的戰略目標只是要穩固在亞太地區的利益,並沒有要擊敗美國的意圖,甚至過去習近平也有提過「太平洋夠大,容的下兩個國家」。因此,對美國來說,如何在節省預算的考量之下,透過火力投射來達到「離岸制衡」並牽制解放軍的兵力投射,使解放軍不能輕易的越過島鍊進入太平洋,便是目的。

雖說如此,但解放軍日益成長的軍力,配合其火箭軍的各型中程彈道飛彈,雖然要直接打擊美軍航艦部隊仍有技術上的問題,但對於打擊關島基地,或是位於日本的美軍基地(橫須賀、普天間)卻是游刃有餘。這也讓美軍開始將軍力後撤,畢竟對轉型後的美軍來說,藉由建立海外駐軍基地,以兵力前進佈署作為嚇阻假想敵行動的冷戰思維早已過時,取而代之的是高機動、量小質精、結合高科技與火力的快速反應部隊。因此在美軍新的戰略調整中,部隊沒有必要放在可能遭遇第一擊的前進基地,反而是保留實力於後方,前沿所需的只是電偵與岸基火力,真正的兵力則是以「動態武力運用」(Dynamic Force Employment)的觀念,讓重要部署任務更難預測,以使潛在對手無法鎖定攻擊目標。這可能也是美國退出中程核飛彈條約(Intermediate-range Nuclear Forces Treaty)的原因。冷戰時,美國靠著洲際彈道飛彈即可與蘇聯形成恐怖平衡,但在現在的戰略環境中,中程彈道飛彈若裝配在太平洋與亞洲的基地,是可以有效的對中國造成威脅。

而在近期美軍B-52轟炸機以及電戰機多次的靠近中國周遭海空域,都是在對中國進行兵力展示。即便B-52轟炸機撤離關島基地,但對美國而言,反而掌握主動權,而非將戰機固定在單一基地,甚至在未來有可能配合中程飛彈將關島作為為火力投射基地而非兵力投射基地,並強化亞太盟邦的部隊實力,藉由資訊系統的整合與軍售(如近期AIT主任莫健訪台提到的標準三型飛彈)建立亞太的安全防護網。而這其中台灣便成重要的戰略樞紐。

結論:台灣的地緣戰略角色 對我國而言,不論兩岸關係如何變化,解放軍都一直是我國軍事安全的威脅,即便在國際關係的互相牽引下,解放軍在台海周遭的許多活動不一定是針對我國,但其行為確實已對我國造成相當的威脅。。甚至有部份觀點認為在解放軍兵力投射能力(海軍以及火箭軍)已經超過第一島鏈的情形之下,我國是否還擁有不沈的航空母艦與第一島鏈樞紐的戰略地位?若是解放軍與美軍在第一島鏈與第二島鏈之間交火的同時,若國軍能適時發揮戰力,便能發揮「內線作戰」的效果,配合外軍對解放軍做出更大的打擊。如第二次世界大戰中太平洋戰爭裡的瓜達康納爾島爭奪戰中,早期美軍並無控制瓜島周遭的制海權,甚至無力對從臘包爾出發運補的「東京快車」進行攔截,但憑藉著掌控瓜島機場,即便多次遭到日本海軍聯合艦隊的砲擊,依然可以恢復航空戰力,牽制聯合艦隊的行動,逐步確保美國海軍艦隊的優勢。美軍能獲得最後的優勢,關鍵在於始終控制著機場,持續保有對外投射兵力的能力(海空軍)。因此如何在解放軍第一波攻擊後,仍能有效的保有作戰能量便是關鍵。除了空中戰力之外、岸基飛彈以及海軍艦隊的確保,甚至能與友邦進行戰場資訊的分享,這也是近年來美國在戰略的布局中,特別強調區域國家間的合作,期望整合盟邦的資源,分享資訊情資以期能發揮一加一大於二的綜效,必能對解放軍產生相當的威脅,進而與盟邦一同維護亞太安全。

林穎佑 博士 國立中正大學戰略暨國際事務研究所兼任助理教授

台灣觀點專文純屬作者個人觀點並不代表本院立場。

登入

登入成功