Flawed Democracy?A reflection on Taiwan’s democratic development

Flawed DemocracyA reflection on Taiwan’s democratic development

 

An Introduction

 

Having evaluated democratic systems in particular states, the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU), introduces the term of “Flawed Democracy” to indicate that democratic systems have shown faults in various aspects. Compared to “Full Democracy,” a flawed democracy struggles with issues that violate democratic normality. Compared with the “Hybrid Regime” and the “Authoritarian Regime,” the violations have notably increased. In EIU’s 2020-2021 report, the United States is indexed as a flawed democracy. Much of the blame was assigned to former President Donald Trump for the various unsettling policies or situations during his reign leading up to the presidential election campaign, such as racial unrests, ethnic conflicts, election fraud, police brutality, and voter suppression...etc.

 

What is more worrisome is that according to the report, 70% out of 167 countries got downgraded. To be specific, only 23 nations (13.8%) are now qualified as “Full Democracies”; while 52 nations (31.1%) have been classified as the “flawed democracies.” With the glooming trend, it is no wonder that renowned scholars such as Francis Fukuyama and Philippe C. Schmitter both have trouble standing optimistic for the future of democratic development. In fact, Larry Diamond, who participated in the research, bluntly pointed out that the world is now facing “Democracy in Retreat Globally.” In other words, the political experiences in both advanced democracies and third-world countries since the 20th century have proven that it is neither cheap nor painless to pursuit the perfectness of democracy.

 

Why Socrates rejected democracy?

 

From the way the world went all out in blind pursuit of democracy after World War I and World War II, the process of democratization has been exposed to unpredictable risks. The most common predicament was that when the government despised the people for being short of democratic literacy, the vast majority of governments were not much better off. Therefore, when neither the government nor the people had what it takes for democratic accomplishment, flooding excuses appear to justify distorted political maneuvers. We must have forgotten the Greek philosopher Socrates’ thought-provoking warning that one shall not blindly trust democracy to be a holly and flawless system, that its volatility makes it susceptible to becoming Mobocracy. Even the much-applauded voting mechanism could degenerate into mere manipulations skills. When people endowed with the right to vote do not possess the wisdom to distinguish right from wrong, what essence of democracy is left in voting?

 

Furthermore, without proper legalization to regulate digital management on the developed internet, “Cyber citizens” have fallen into a tool for the cyber army to spread fake news. From provoking voters to spreading disinformation, cyber warfare exacerbates the painful situations that Socrates had warned. In other words, the core value of democracy was meant to be a checked government of the people; instead, malevolent politicians are now forging and manipulating public opinion at will. Hence Socrates insisted that democracy must be accomplished on the goodness of knowledge rather than the evil of ignorance. Without the support of education, virtue, and knowledge, democracy can be irresponsible.

 

Is Taiwan's democracy flawless?

 

Despite having gone through authoritarian rule under the party-state system for nearly half a century, Taiwan's democratization has gained international recognition after its democratic consolidation. Renowned INGOs such as Freedom House, Human Right Watch, Amnesty International, Democracy without Borders, etc. have gradually upgraded Taiwan's democratic performance from a lower rank of "partly free" to " full freedom and democracy." In EIU's latest research, Taiwan has met the benchmark of full democracy for the first time. It is now one of the three full democratic countries in Asia, alongside South Korea and Japan. Taiwan is even dubbed as the "Beacon of Democracy" in Asia.

 

INGO's recognition of Taiwan's democratic performance is for sure something to be proud of. However, we should not disregard the inherent blind spots of those research and studies. Aside from the evaluations of foreign scholars, domestic insiders' observation provides unique perspectives that we cannot afford to underestimate. For example, the poll conducted by Taiwan Democracy Foundation and the Formosa E-newspaper's on Taiwan's democratic performance did not give out the same remarkable score as EIU did. With close examinations, can we still be sure that Taiwan's democracy outperforms that of the United States? With so many domestic issues beneath the surface, do we still have the confidence to claim that we have safely outgrown the league of "flawed democracy"? The following discussions help examine the democratic governance of Taiwan.

 

1. Selective democracy?

 

Renowned scholars Robert Dahl, Arend Lijphart, Larry Diamond, etc. pointed out that democracy is a logical system operating on multiple variables. No single variable constitutes democracy alone. It will not work to create a self-proclaimed democracy with selective variables. When a democracy lacks two basic scientific premises: 1. Seek truth from facts (honesty) and 2. Logic (rigorous inferring, no sophistication), it will reduce to a so-called Pseudo-democracy. Furthermore, with the attribute of public servants, government officials of democratic countries are "people-centered administrators." They must possess "3R" sense and traits: 1. Responsible, 2. Responsive, and 3. Reliable. That is to say, should the rights or interests of the people and the country be infringed, government officials must be ready to shoulder the responsibilities, no matter minor administrative or moral responsibilities, or more consequential ones such as political or legal responsibilities that lead to resignation. However, from Taiwan's history, we seldom see any ruling party willing to have their responsible officials step down for significant negligence. Some even blatantly eluded administrative or moral responsibilities and managed to get promotions after lying low for a while. How can this live up to the name of democracy?

 

2. A government got away from checks and balances

 

The most critical manifest of democracy is the safeguard of social justice. There are three types of justice to be protected: distributive justice, corrective justice, and procedural justice. Social justice must be achieved through the mechanism of "checks and balances."

 

With the past experiences of fully governed administrations in Taiwan, except executive and legislative branches were obtained through elections, other supposedly independent branches such as the judiciary, examinations, and supervisory branches would fall under the ruling party's control because of administration nomination. Given the utilitarian nature of politics, it would be hard for the ruling party to fall under checks and balances naturally. From experience, the winning party always took preemptive measures to seize control of the "Central Election Commission" (CEC) and "National Communication Commission" (NCC) after every presidential election. The purpose is to reel in the election law and the media in preparation for the next election. Therefore, the whole setting became "full party control without checks and balances," the people and opposition parties were reduced to political decorations under formalism.

 

3. The legitimacy of the election

 

In terms of theories and practices, public opinion is generally the prerequisite to examining democratic elections. Thus, democracy must come with elections, but elections do not necessarily warrant democracy. The crux lies in the protracted and complicated election process. Slight negligence can sabotage the whole political legitimacy. According to the research of scholar M. Harrop: voters, government, system, the rule of law, and free choices are all intertwined and indispensable variables.

 

Therefore, should we apply the M. Harrop indicators to examine the election process under both KMT and DPP governance, at least the following aspects are questionable: 1. Whether the election laws were drafted and revised complying with procedural justice under democratic participation? Moreover, was there a designated independent judiciary responsible for legal interpretation? 2. Was the election administration reasonably fair with the insistence on honesty, capability, and neutrality against factional influence? 3. Was the voting process completely free, equal, and anonymous? Was the elections tally process transparent and unbiased? 4. Were fair and inclusive competitions ensured during the campaigns? 5. Were the attempts to intervene from political parties, government, and factions effectively blocked out according to the laws?

 

Conclusion: shared responsibilities and obligations

 

All in all, a human history laden with "frustrated democracy" is proving that democracy might be a noble pursuit and that "ideal democracy" is no easy choice. It is thus relatable when scholars called it "expensive democracy."

 

Although long-term researches indicate that Taiwan's civil and political engagement has significantly improved, the ingrained mindset of Taiwanese to "play safe" can easily compromise the integrity of democracy. Especially when confronted with potential threats from those in power, "silence is golden" can fast become the dominating motto of their life.

 

In other words, true democracy does not reveal itself without the type of awakening that comes with painful lessons. Although Taiwan's flawed democracy still has room for debate, honesty is always the best policy for democratic societies and governments. As long as we have the determination and knowledge to reforms, a Taiwan of the people, by the people, and for the people can be optimistically expected.

 Written by Professor Chien-wen Peng

 Translated by Erica Lee

 

Cart

Login

Login Success

有缺陷的民主?省思台灣民主的發展

有缺陷的民主?省思台灣民主的發展

             前言:背景說明                                   

    「有缺陷的民主」(Flawed Democracy)是經濟學人智庫EIU評比各國民主政治所提出,主要在說明其運作過程已有相當的瑕疵呈現,相較「全民主」(Full Democracy)來說,常會出現許多違逆「民主常態」的問題進一步比較「混和政體」(Hybrid Regime )及「威權政體」( Authoritarian Regime)違逆民主的情事則又有更明顯次遞增。如在2020-2021年的調查研究中,美國很遺憾是被評為「有缺陷的民主」。其主要的原因,乃是Donald Trump從執政到總統的選舉過程,總是出現種種違逆民主的狀況,如種族歧視街頭暴動,族群分裂式衝突、選舉計票舞弊、警察暴力執法、選民壓制(Voter Suppression)…..等等

                                                        

   惟更值得關切者,即依據2020EIU對全球167個國家的評比發現,有70%的國家評比的總體數值,有呈現明顯下滑的現象。尤其是屬全民主的國家僅有23個 (13.8%) ;屬有缺陷的民主者,卻有52個 (31.1%) 。從此發展趨勢看來,難怪民主學者如Francis FukuyamaPhilippe C. Schmitter最近都有較為悲觀的批判。事實上直接參與該項研究的權威學者Larry Diamond更不諱言的地指稱,世界如今正面臨著「全球民主的倒退」(Democracy in Retreat Globally)。換言之,面對20世紀以來先進民主國家及第三世界政治發展的經驗顯示,要真正體現民主的真、善、美,既非是「廉價的」,更不是「一蹴可及」的。

 貳、蘇格拉底為何拒絕民主?

依據一、二次世界大戰後各國瘋狂追求民主的經驗顯示,其過程是充滿著許多不可測的風險。最普遍的危機是當政府不斷批評人民民主素養不足時,絕大多數的政府又何嘗足夠?故當政府與人民均缺乏民主的素養及政治文化時,民主被扭曲的操作,自然就充斥著種種弔詭的藉口。 

據此,吾人是否已忘記希臘哲人Socrates(469-399BC)「暮鼓晨鐘」的警告,即不可盲目認為民主是神聖而無瑕的制度,它有太多的變數,會使民主變成「 暴民政治」(Mobocracy)。如被稱頌的投票選舉,事實上已淪為只是一種操作技巧(Skills)而已。人民即使擁有了這種權利,卻始終沒有「分辨是非」的智慧來支持,投票又有何民主實質的意義?反思現今有數位網路已非常發達,卻無健全法治化的「數位管理」(Digital Management)配合,致使「網路公民」(Cybercitizens)不幸淪為網軍散佈假新聞(Fake News)的工具,從煽動選民到誤導視聽,此不正就是Socrates當年最痛心的現象嗎?換言之,民主的「核心價值」本是可「主權在民」的監控政府,如今卻怎麼就讓邪惡的政客可任意「製造民意」及「操控民意」?故Socrates堅信:民主是必須成就於「知識的善」而非「無知的惡」,若沒有確實的教育、美德與知識的氛圍,民主仍可謂是「不負責任的(Irresponsible)。

   參、台灣的民主政治有缺陷嗎?

以台灣民主政治發展的經驗而言,雖然已歷經近半世紀「黨國體制」(Party-State System)下的威權統治,如今民主鞏固(Democratic Consolidation)後的民主發展 也在國際上獲得相當的肯定。國際知名的NGOs如Freedom HouseHuman Right WatchAmnesty InternationalDemocracy without Borders 等,對台灣的民主發展,皆已從較低分的「部分自由」(Partly Free),逐漸轉變成完全自由民主等級的評價。尤其是前述經濟學人EIU在最新的研究中更指出,台灣第一次已從「有缺陷的民主」升級到「完全民主」,與南韓及日本並列為亞洲三個完全民主的國家,台灣甚至可被稱頌是亞洲「民主的燈標」(Beacon of Democracy)。

前述國際NGOs對台灣民主發展的肯定,固然值得驕傲,但其民主品質的調查研究,似乎尚有些許「見林不見樹」的感覺。換言之,除外國學者的評價外,國人第一手的觀察與研究,仍然有其對比參考的價值。譬如台灣民主基金會及美麗島電子報有關台灣民主政治滿意度的調查,並沒有想像如EIU那麼高。若深入的醒思,台灣的民主政治已能真正超越美國了嗎? 又內部許多「非民主」的的政治現象,仍可仍逃離「有缺陷的民主」? 故以下諸問題的論述,或可做為台灣經營民主治理的再省思。

一、選擇性的民主?

    依據民主發展的名學者如Robert Dahl、Arend Lijphart、Larry Diamond•••等學者的研究指出,民主運作是「多元變項」所構成的邏輯系統,任何單一變項,是不能單獨構成民主的,更不是可以「選擇性的變相」來成就「自以為是的民主」。譬如民主若無「科學」的兩項基本前提:1.實事求是:誠實(不說謊),2.邏輯:推理嚴謹(不詭辯),即容易成為所謂的「偽民主」(Pseudodemocracy)。其次民主政府的公職人員,因有公僕的屬性,且可稱是「以人民為中心的行政人員」(People-centered Administrator),就必須具有3R的共識與素養:1.負責任的(Responsible),2.有反應的(Responsive),3.可依賴的(Reliable)。即若有傷害國家人民權益的情事時,官員就必須自動承擔責任,輕者是須負行政與道義責任,重者則是得負包括辭職下台的政治及法律責任。可是,根據台灣過往的經驗顯示,無論何黨執政期間,有重大事故發生時,除極少數有勇於下台負責的官員外,絕大部分幾乎是「雷聲大雨點小」的「不了了之」,有的甚至連起碼的行政及道義責任都不願承擔,且過許久又可獲更高的權位,試問這還算是「民主政府」應有的作為嗎?

    二、失去制衡的政府?

民主政治的目標首重社會正義(Social Justice)的體現,主要內容有三,其一是「分配正義」(Distributive Justice),其二是「對的正義」(Corrective Justice),其三則是「程序正義」(Procedural Justice)。惟就社會正義(Social Justice)的體現而言,它是必須透過「制衡」(Checks & Balances)的機制(Mechanism)來維持與保障的。

若以台灣過往政府的「完全執政」而言,除了行政、立法是因選舉因素所促成外,必須具有獨立屬性的機關如司法、考試與監察院,幾乎亦因執政黨掌控提名權而形成。惟畢竟政治是絕對的現實,民主政治要「順理成章」的達成制衡與社會正義連結,困難度自然就更高了。此外,就台灣政治發展的經驗顯示,台灣每次總統大選結束後,勝選的執政黨為何都要急於掌控「中央選委會」(CEC)及「國家傳播委員會」(NCC),其目的無非就是想「超前佈署」的去主控執政期間選罷法與媒體的走向,以為再度勝選做準備。故以上種種情形,實質上可稱為是「去制衡」下的「完全執政」,人民及在野黨也只能是「形式主義」(Formalism)下的「政治裝飾」(Political Decorations)而已。

 三、選舉作業的正當性?

通常就檢驗民主選舉的理論與經驗而言,民意是決定民主的前提,故有民主就一定會有選舉,但有選舉則不一定是民主了。其中最主要的原因是長時間極為複雜的「選舉過程」(Election Process),稍不嚴謹就有可能使選舉頓失其民主的政治正當性(Political Legitimacy)。依據學者M. Harrop 的經驗研究顯示,選民、政府、制度、法治與自由的選擇(Free Choices)等諸因素,皆是環環相扣的。

換言之,今若以M. Harrop 的指標來檢視,過往無論是KMT或 DPP執政期間,選舉作業經驗至少有下列諸問題是經常受到質疑的:1.選罷法在制訂定之初或修改時,是否有在民主參與的「程序正義」中完成?且有一「獨立的司法」(Independent Judiciary)負責解釋嗎? 2.選務行政是否始終堅持誠實、有能力、政治中立及無派系影響的理性公平(Reasonably Fair)? 3.選民投票是否始終是自由的、平等的與祕密的?且選舉計票及其結果,都有公開被誠實的公告? 4.選戰過程是否有真正依據選罷法在公開及包容性(Inclusiveness)下公平的競爭(Fair Competition)? 5.競選過程中,是否有依法真正限制黨、政及派系的打壓或權力鬥爭的介入?

   肆、結論:共同的責任與義務

總而言之,充斥「挫折民主」(Frustrated Democracy) 的發展經驗,業已證實民主或許是人類一種「崇高的理想」,而「理想民主」(Ideal Democracy)的體現,的確也是一種「不容易的選擇」(No Easy Choice) 。故有學者稱它是一「昂貴的民主」(Expensive Democracy) ,當可理性的予以理解。

同時,依據學者長期的研究指出,台灣公民「參與的政治文化」雖有明顯的成長,但其內心深處「明哲保身」的政治文化,卻仍會在有形及無形中影響台灣民主產出的品質。尤其是若有嗅到當權者報復性威脅的氛圍時,「沉默是金」就很容易變成人民行為的「座右銘」(Motto)

換言之,若沒有「痛苦教訓」中的覺醒,吾人是很難輕易嚐到民主真正的滋味。至於台灣「有缺陷的民主」,或許有諸多爭辯的空間,但對於民主的公民與政府而言,誠實皆仍是最佳的政策(Honesty is still the best policy.)。吾人只要有推動改革的共識與智慧,「民有、民治及民享」的台灣,不但是可以期待的,也可說是相對樂觀的。

 

彭 堅 汶 教授

购物车

登入

登入成功