Government-Civil Society Partnership to Promote the SDG 17 in Taiwan: Policy Review and Action Recommendations

Government-Civil Society Partnership to Promote the SDG 17 in Taiwan: Policy Review and Action Recommendations

Adopted by the United Nations in 2015, the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are enacted as a universal call to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure peace and prosperity by 2030. SDGs provide a blueprint of development for all countries regardless of their levels of socio-economic developments. To achieve these global goals, it is essential to establish cooperation across all sectors and borders. Goal 17 of SDGs especially highlights the importance of the partnership relations in pursuing global developments, and addresses urgent needs of developing countries. As civil societies always play an important role in development programmes, this article is especially devoted to the partnership between government and civil society organizations (CSOs.)

Although having been excluded from the UN since 1971, Taiwan government has demonstrated tremendous interests in SDGs since its enactment in 2016. A report conducted by Oxfam in 2018 shows that Taiwanese corporates are the most committed to the SDGs among companies in the greater China region. On the central government level, the Executive Yuan published “Taiwan’s Voluntary National Review: The Implementation of the UN Sustainable Development Goals” in September 2017 and announced “Taiwan’s Sustainable Development Goals” in 2019. Some local governments also completed Voluntary Local Reviews, demonstrating their commitments to SDGs. Besides, SDGs have become popular topics among academics, civil society organizations, and all works of life.

As the SDGs have become the consensus for national development, it is the right time to contemplate how Taiwan could achieve 17 SDGs goals by building effective and inclusive partnership between government and civil society and reach out to international level. More specifically, we need to identify contents of Taiwan’s international development and cooperation policies. And more importantly, how the government would integrate all the resources and build up partnership with civil society in achieving the global goals of sustainable developments.

Obviously, it needs more elaboration on the partnership between the government and civil society organizations in the Taiwan’s Voluntary National Review. Scholars also observed a rupture in linking domestic and international development issues. In the Review, there are detailed elaboration on the implementation on the first 16 goals whereas merely outlines five areas of the International Cooperation Development Funds on the SDG 17. Lack of partnership building in Taiwan VNR inevitably leads to the conclusion that the government ignores the importance of the role of civil society organizations especially in the international level.

The similar mindset also reflected in the “Taiwan’s Sustainable Goals”, published in 2019. Although the paper details how different ministries would work together to promote the Goal 17, there is no comprehensive discussion on the roles of other stakeholders, especially civil society groups, in the promotion of SDGs overseas. It seems that Taiwan’s policy framework of the Goal 17 still lacks some essential elements of inclusive partnership to fully implement the UN 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

As a matter of fact, in comparison with other developed countries, Taiwan needs to strengthen its contribution to international development projects. According to “International Cooperation and Development Report 2018” published by Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the official development assistance (ODA) of Taiwan in 2018 was about USD 302 million, registering an ODA/GNI (gross national income) ratio of 0,051%, which is far below the 0.7 percent target set by the United Nations. Comparing with the two neighbouring OECD countries, Japan and Korea, Taiwan’s ODA contribution is quite low too. In 2018, Japan’s ODA stood at USD 14.2 billion, representing 0.28 % of Japan’s GNI. In the same year, South Korea spent USD 2.4 billion on ODA, corresponding to 0.5% of GNI. Both countries are willing to contribute much higher national budgets to international development than Taiwan.

Moreover, practices in Japan and South Korea also show that donor countries generally would include civil society participation in their ODA programs. In 2017, 2% of Japan’s foreign aid was implemented via civil society organizations, which counted for USD 276 million, almost close to Taiwan’s total ODA amount. In the same year, South Korea channelled USD 44 million through CSOs, representing 3% of their total foreign aid. In addition, the two countries have explicitly stated the roles of other stakeholders in their respective international cooperation and development policies, especially the role of CSOs. In Japan’s White Paper on Development Cooperation 2017, the Japanese government praised Japanese NGOs as “indispensable partners in international development cooperation,” and therefore the government provides support for the capacity building of NGOs and engages in dialogues with NGOs on a regular basis. In South Korea, the government and civil society established the Policy Framework for Government-Civil Society Partnership in International Development Cooperation in January 2019 to clarify and deepen their partnership in international development endeavours .

On the contrary, Taiwanese government does not seem to have a comprehensive partnership strategy plan with CSOs in its international cooperation and development policies. Although the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and other ministries would allocate some small budgets to assist Taiwanese NGOs to engage in international development projects, the amount is insignificant compare with the two neighbouring countries. As a consequence, the influence and the scope of Taiwanese civil society in promoting sustainable developments overseas are rather limited.

As SDGs have become the mainstream development ideology in Taiwan, it is the right time to rethink about how we can truly implement the spirit of “partnership” as depicted by the Gaol 17. The following viewpoints might be considered by policy-makers in Taiwan:

   1 Review the current international cooperation and development policies and seek to gradually increase the ratio of ODA/GNI: Comparing with the neighbouring countries with similar level of development, Taiwan’s ODA/GNI ratio is very low. As Goal 17 requires, developed countries need to implement fully their ODA commitments, including the commitment by many developed countries to achieve an ODA/GNI ratio of 0.7%. Taiwan should take serious consideration to increase its ODA/GNI ratio. The government could invite experts from civil society to review and assess the current policies and have a thorough inventory check on all the available resources to gradually raise its ODA/GNI ratio.

   2. Promote research and practice of international development in Taiwan Although there are plenty staff and strong research capability on international relations studies in Taiwan academic institutions, there are limited faculty devoted to the study of international cooperation and development. Consequently, practitioners have little support from academics and can only equip themselves through on-the-job trainings, or obtaining academic degrees overseas. Taiwanese government should allocate more resources in facilitating research of international development and encourage more practitioners to this field.

   3 . Raise public awareness through global citizenship education: The limited budget allocated for ODA can be blamed to the lack of public support, due to the tarnishing of “money diplomacy” for foreign aid. Nevertheless, evidence suggests that public perception towards foreign aid can be changed through promotion of global citizenship education. A research has shown that Korean public support towards ODA was also relatively low. However, Korean government prioritises spending on expanding public awareness of Korea’s effort in international development programmes, allocating about 1.7% of its bilateral ODA budget for development awareness at home in 2016, well above the DAC average. This explains Korean government’s more and more ambitious in promoting foreign aid programmes in recent years. Taiwanese government could learn from the Korean experiences by incorporating global citizenship education programmes to school curricula and raising public awareness and support on ODA issues.

As civil society organizations are playing more and more crucial roles in promoting social and political reforms, what actions can Taiwan’s CSOs take in order to advance Goal 17 and international development in Taiwan? As a senior civil society practitioner, I have the following reflections:

    1. Seek ceaselessly to improve professional skills and develop policy research ability for CSO practitioners: Lack of academic training in international development is worsened by the fact that Taiwan has been excluded from UN’s international development activities and discussions. Field workers have little resources to develop their own capacities to face ever changing environments in aid recipient countries. Civil society organizations in Taiwan have to build up an environment that allows practitioners from different organizations to exchange, to learn from one another, and to grow together. Bearing in mind that civil society in democratic countries always plays the role of monitoring the government. Indeed, comparing with other CSOs in Taiwan, such as human right groups, CSOs on international development have not been very strong in policy analysis and advocacy. We have to develop our own policy research capability in order to engage in meaningful dialogues with the government. In the long run, international development policies would gain more public support.

   2. Actively engage in dialogues with different development actors to promote cross-sector cooperation: Given the challenges faced by those who engage in international development programing in Taiwan, civil society organizations need to proactively seek cooperation opportunities from other actors, including academics, the private sectors, government agencies and other groups. Experiences from Japan and Korea show that if CSOs aim to be included in governments’ ODA policies, extensive dialogues have to be taken place first to build up mutual understanding and trust. Only when strong consensus with all the development actors reached, can favourable policies and environment be created for CSOs to participate in ODA programmes. By then, perhaps we can even set up an independent NGO to review development programme proposals and allocate governmental funds to other NGOs, such as in the case of Japan and Korea.

  3. Unswervingly uphold our core values: As seeking to become reliable partners of the government to promote sustainable developments and take part in the ODA policy-making process, we should not forget the core values that motivate us to participate in international development endeavors in the first place. We should never forget the upmost principle of the Code of Conduct for the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement and NGOs in Disaster Response Programmes: “The humanitarian imperative comes first.” We have to keep in mind that our endeavours are not partisan orientated or politically motivated. When we promote the SDGs both domestically and internationally, and conduct public education programmes, we should reflect whether we also internalize all these sustainable goals and targets in good governance and management of our own organizations. As the public expects higher standards for CSOs, we must set our standards even higher to maintain public support in the future.

Senera Chang, Secretary General of TAIWAN AID

Conclusions and recommendations of Taiwan Perspective articles are solely those of their authors, and do not reflect the views of INPR.

Login

Login Success

从永续发展目标看伙伴关系:台湾非政府组织国际发展合作面面观

 

   联合国于2015年通过的17项「永续发展目标」(Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs),期望于2030年前可以终结贫穷、保护地球,并且确保人们拥有和平与繁荣的生活。SDGs不只针对发展中国家提供国际发展的蓝图,对于所有的国家,无论贫富,都提供了完整的发展框架。此外,SDG强调跨国及跨界的合作及投入,如同联合国秘书长古特雷斯(Antonio Guterres)于今年(2019)九月联合国永续发展目标高峰会时的呼吁,在未来10年内要完成永续发展的使命,除了需要有国家与国家之间合作的「全球行动」(global action),以及国家内部政策推动的「地方行动」(local action),也需要有「人民行动」(people action)。在人民行动中,古特雷斯呼吁公民社会、草根组织、媒体、私营企业、工会、学界及其他单位一起动员,建立一种前所未见的伙伴关系,推动永续发展目标 。事实上,包容、多元的伙伴关系是SDG的特色及精神,伙伴关系的建立及维持也是SDG的第17项目标的内容。

  SDG自从2016年生效起,在台湾各界均受到高度的重视。无论是企业界、公民社会组织、学界、政府单位等等,都兴起了研究、推广、应用的潮流。尤其台湾的企业对于SDG的实践的注重,在国际上已受到重视 。在政府部门方面,中央政府在2017年9月即发布了「国家自愿检视报告」(Voluntary National Review,VNR),并于2019年完成「台湾永续发展目标」。同时,地方政府也重视SDG的实践,新北市与台北市皆于2019年完成地方政府的自愿检视报告。永续发展目标,无疑地已成为台湾政府及社会共同的新价值观。

   当永续发展目标成为国家发展的方向已是共识的此时,或许是一个合适的时间点来思考:永续发展目标中第17项目标,同时也是SDG核心精神的「伙伴关系」,台湾应如何落实呢? 事实上,SDG虽适用于各国的国家发展,但亦是国际发展合作的方针。 SDG第17项目标「伙伴关系」中,各项具体目标以及指标皆指向国际发展合作的工作。那么台湾在将SDG融入于国家发展政策的同时,国际合作发展的政策又是如何呢? 扮演资源统筹整合的政府,又如何思考跨界的「伙伴关系」,特别是与采取「人民行动」的公民社会组织的关系呢?

   若是从中央政府2017年的国家自愿检视报告(VNR)来看,SDG第17项「伙伴关系」的陈述似乎是较弱的一环。曾有国内学者指出,虽然VNR呈现出台湾政府对于永续发展已经开始有跨领域想像,然而报告中也看到国内发展议题与国际议题的断裂:国内以16项政策/法规为主轴,国际则只单纯报告外交部国合会业务中的五大领域,并归纳在第17项伙伴关系中。国内与国际的工作似乎并无交集 。此外,有别于许多已开发国家的VNR中,国家政府会特别探讨与其他单位,特别是与公民社会组织一起参与国际发展工作的合作框架 ;台湾的VNR针对台湾的国际发展,只描述了国合会的工作,而未提政府与台湾其他非政府组织及其他单位的合作。似乎在中央政府的想像中,「人民行动」在国际发展工作中,并不是重要的一环。

   这样的观点,也延续在2019年中央政府所公布的「台湾永续发展目标」。在与SDG17相对应的「核心目标17: 建立多元伙伴关系,协力促进永续远景」中,虽然可以看到跨部会对于国际发展相关议题的分工,但是除政府外的其他单位,特别是公民社会组织的角色,仍未有清楚的说明。唯一有提及公民社会组织的是具体目标17.9:「…将以技术协助能量建构或公司部门及民间团体共同协力,提升开发中国家的环境管理与污染防治工作」。但整体来说,2019年版本的「台湾永续发展目标」中,政府对于国际发展的方针,似乎仍是以政府部门为主体,如何推动「伙伴关系」的施政方针并不明显,与SDG的实质精神仍有不小的距离。

  事实上,公民社会组织的国际发展参与,是台湾足以引以为傲的资产。90年代开始,台湾经济的成长以及民主的发展使台湾公民社会日益成熟,公民社会组织快速成长,并开始发挥社会影响力,促进社会发展,也开始参与国际工作。近年来台湾民间组织在国际社会积极从事国际人道及医疗援助、消除贫穷与疾病、促进民主与人权及维护永续生态环境,除了以实际的行动响应SDGs所提倡的全球发展,其实也展现台湾公民社会的软实力,对于提升台湾的国际能见度与形象,应有正面的影响。

   然而,对比其他已开发国家,台湾政府对于国际发展的投入相对偏低。根据外交部的「国际合作发展事务107年度报告」,2018年台湾的「政府开发援助」(official development assistance, ODA) 约3.02亿美元,占我国国民所得毛额(GNI)的0.051%, 与联合国所订的0.7% 的理想标准仍有颇大的差距。与邻近同为已开发国家的日本及韩国相比,台湾的ODA也偏低。2018年,日本的ODA为142亿美元,ODA/GNI 比为0.28%,而韩国则提供24亿美元的ODA,ODA/GNI比例则为0.15% ,皆远高于台湾。

   此外,以日本与韩国为例,政府的ODA政策皆纳入公民社会组织的参与。2017年,日本ODA中提拨2%的专款提供或借由公民社会组织执行双边援助的方案(aid to and through CSOs),总金额高达2.76亿美金,几乎等于台湾一年ODA的总额。韩国ODA提拨给公民社会组织的比例为3%,总金额约4,400万美金。两个国家ODA提拨的公民社会组织仍以本国为主,韩国甚至超过8成获得ODA提拨的公民社会组织来自本国 。此外,两国政府的国际发展政策中皆清楚论述政府与其他单位,包括与公民社会组织的合作关系。日本外务省在2017年的「发展政策白皮书」中表示,日本NGOs在发展合作中是不可缺少的伙伴,因此日本政府重视与NGOs 的合作。除了经费支持NGOs 的发展合作活动,日本政府也支持NGOs 的能力建构,并与NGOs 就发展合作进行对话 。而韩国政府于2019年与公民社会共同建置并发布了「政府与公民社会国际发展合作伙伴关系政策框架」,政府及公民社会组织获得共识,将在国际发展领域中合作,达到强化发展效能、强化透明度及责信、强化发展的融合性及公平以确保脆弱群体的权益、提升大众对于发展的意识及参与等目的 。

   相比之下,台湾政府与公民社会组织在国际发展合作中的合作也较少具策略性、系统性的规划。外交部每年虽然编列一千万台币左右预算补助台湾非政府组织的国际发展合作,同时卫福部等其他部会亦编列部分国际合作相关预算与民间单位合作,然而与日韩相比,经济规模确实偏低。而整体来说,台湾政府主导的国际发展工作中,似乎仍缺乏与公民社会组织合作的策略论述。也因此,即便是一些台湾民间单位与政府合作的国际发展专案深具效益,然而整体来说,这些专案的规模及影响力皆无法进一步扩展,甚为可惜。

   当永续发展目标已成为台湾未来国家发展的主流思想,当台湾社会盼望台湾可以参与、贡献国际社会的同时,政府或许可以思考如何在政策上推动台湾各界,特别是公民社会在国际发展工作的参与,使台湾可以真正落实SDG第17项伙伴关系的精神,又可以进一步在国际上彰显台湾的进步与价值。以下几点或许可供政府参考:

   1 检视目前的国际发展政策,尝试整合资源以利逐年调整ODA/GNI 的比例:SDG17.2细项目标即是要求已开发国家全面落实ODA承诺,并提升ODA/GNI比例至0.7%。与邻近的已开发国家相比,台湾的国际发展策略以及挹注的金额都有成长的空间。政府可邀请民间单位一起检视目前我国的国际发展政策,并确实盘点各部会所有与ODA相关的预算及实际的支出,以深入评估目前ODA政策的成效。同时可以参考其他国家的经验,制定出更加具体并可与国际接轨的国际发展方针,以及更有效率的统整各政府部门相关ODA预算的管理方式。政府可以在汇整各政府单位的资源后,订定出合理的目标,逐年调高ODA/GNI 的比例。

   2 与各界合作,推动台湾国际发展的执行及研究能力: 与其他国家的学术单位相比,特别是邻近的日韩等国,台湾大专院校虽然有优秀的国际关系、国家发展教学及研究单位,但是国际发展合作科系则相对非常缺乏,也导致国际发展专业人才培育不易。政府可协助国际发展专业人士的在职训练,促进国内外专业从业人士彼此的经验交流,以提升国际发展专案的品质及效能。同时,也可鼓励台湾高等教育发展相关科系课程,以利台湾未来在此领域的发展。

   3 鼓励推动世界公民教育,提升大众意识: 台湾政府ODA预算编列偏低,或许也与政府正当的ODA作为屡遭污名化有关。事实上研究显示,日本、韩国公众对于ODA的支持度其实也相对偏低 。然而,韩国大力推动世界公民教育,2016年韩国在国内投资了约1.7%的双边ODA预算,提升大众对于国际合作以及韩国在全球推动SDG的认识,投入的资金远超于OECD捐赠国的平均。也因此,韩国的ODA/GNI比例得以逐年提高 。政府可以藉著将世界公民教育融入学校教育中,如SDG4.7细项目标规范的推动永续发展教育,使青年认识发展工作。政府也可以与公民社会合作,藉著活泼、创意的传播方式与大众对话,提升社会大众对于国际发展的正确认识,使ODA的政策可以更受到国民的认同与肯定。

  对于深具「人民行动」能力的台湾公民社会,在推动国际发展与SDG17伙伴关系的时候,又应该扮演什么样的角色呢? 笔者身为公民社会组织工作者,有以下几点反思:

    1 专业能力及政策研究能力的提升: 在方案国的需求日益增加并更加多元的同时,发展工作者急需强化自身的能力,以利设计出创新及有影响力的方案。然而由于国际发展在台湾仍属较新的产业,且台湾长期隔绝于联合国相关的活动,本土的公民社会组织一般来说对于国际发展的论述及实务操作皆较为陌生,工作者常需自己从实务工作中摸索并累积经验。公民社会组织需要创造一个可以让工作者彼此合作、交换经验、并一起成长的环境,使台湾国际发展工作者的实务能力得以持续提升,并培育新的发展工作者。同时,公民社会组织应扮演起政府政策监督的角色。与台湾的其他性质的组织,如人权组织等相比,从事国际发展的公民社会组织对于国内外相关政策的熟悉度偏弱。相较于欧美以及日韩等国,台湾公民社会组织在国际发展工作上较少进行国际发展政策研究的工作,也因此政策监督的能力较弱。公民社会组织急需提升对于国际发展政策研究及监督的能力,同时也必须有能力提出建设性的政策建议,使政府的国际发展政策更加的透明、有效能、并且可问责,获得人民更多的信任及支持。唯有不断提升国际发展相关的能力,才能真正与政府及其他发展参与者对话,促成跨界的伙伴关系。

  2 积极与各发展参与者(development actors)寻求对话,推动在国际发展工作上跨界的合作平台: 台湾的国际发展工作面临许多的限制,公民社会组织更需要与其他发展参与者交流及合作,创造更多双赢。除了与其他国内外的公民社会组织建立更深的连结之外,若我们持续与学界、企业、政府部门、以及执行官方ODA的国合会等发展参与者持续对话,或可形成更多的共识,得以促使政策改变,形成对公民社会组织参与国际发展工作的有利环境。观察日本与韩国的经验,政府的官方发展援助政策若要纳入公民社会组织的参与,需要更多民间与政府的对话,一起探讨合作的方向与目标。若是公民社会组织希望参与政府的ODA政策,我们需要更加积极地与政府的行政部门及立法部门对话,促进彼此的理解及信任。唯有在建立更高的互信机制后,才能促使政府逐年提高ODA提拨给公民社会组织的比例,甚或是建立与日韩类似的平台组织,以独立的NGO形式,审议并补助国内各非政府组织所拟议提出之各项国际合作发展计画。

   3 坚持组织的核心价值: 在参与政府的ODA政策、成为公部门国际发展伙伴的同时,我们不能忘记我们参与国际发展工作的核心价值。国际红十字和红新月运动和非政府组织灾难和援助行为守则的首条:「人道优先」,深刻地提醒我们,我们的服务是基于人道的需求,不是党派或是政治行动。同时,当我们在国内外推动SDGs 的相关服务,并进行世界公民教育、提升大众意识的同时,我们需要省思,是否我们在组织内部也落实永续发展的精神,在组织治理上也反映各项的指标。社会大众对公民社会组织有更高的道德标准,我们必坚持我们的核心价值并在各方面落实,才可以维持社会的支持,进行国际发展的工作。 2030联合国永续议程的口号「不留下任何人」 (to leave no one behind) 及「首先尽力帮助留在最后的人」(endeavour to reach the furthest behind first),除了需要各国国内的努力之外,也需要各界的投入,以及国际间的相互合作。台湾公民社会所累积的各样能量,若是公部门的政策可以协助引导并整合,相信可以看到台湾在国际发展工作中扮演更多的角色,使台湾真正成为促进世界共荣、永续的世界公民。

张心蕙 台湾国际援助发展联盟秘书长

台湾观点专文纯属作者个人观点并不代表本院立场。

购物车

登入

登入成功