The major concern of the Chinese People's Liberation Army (PLA) in 2020

The major concern of the Chinese People's Liberation Army (PLA) in 2020

   2020 is the year of the endgame for Xi Jinping's military reform launched in November 2015. It is also the year the Chinese People's Liberation Army (PLA) set to "basically achieve mechanization and make a significant breakthrough in information technology." It is the first milestone of Xi's three-step development strategy regarding China's defense and military modernization. The performances of these 2 tasks are crucial indications of PLA's prospect in attaining the long-term goals laid out by Xi to complete modernization of China's national defense by 2035 and to reshape PLA into "world-class forces" by mid-century.

   The "Opinion on Deepening the Reform of National Defense and the Armed Forces" released on January 1, 2016, by Chinese Communist Party indicated that the fundamental goal of the reform is to remove the leadership structural contradictions to optimize the efficiency of a better-integrated military, government, and civil society. It rolled out a plan that by 2020, the PLA would have its breakthrough in restructure of China's leadership and PLA's joint operations command system. It also set the goal of achieving significant progress in a modernized Chinese military force that prevails in information warfare.

   Accordingly, the 2020 acceptance of the military reforms will focus on the restructuring of the military leadership and joint operations command. Since the reform kicked off, the Chinese Central Military Commission has replaced the 4 headquarters with 15 offices under the Central Military Commission. It has also redrawn 7 military districts into 5 major theaters and set up an army leadership entity. The Second Artillery Corps was upgraded to the Rocket Army, and strategic support forces established. All the "above the neck" changes had been made in time to meet Xi's expectations.

   Xi's "three-step" development strategy for the modernization of Chinese national defense and military was a revision of the development plans of Jiang Zemin. Xi's laid out his plan during his political work report in the 19th National Congress of the Chinese Communist Party. He has set a new interim goal for China to "basically achieve mechanization and make a significant breakthrough in information technology, to strive to achieve national defense and military modernization by 2035, and to reshape PLA into "world-class forces by mid-century. "

   As part of the goal to "basically achieve mechanization and make a significant improvement in applying information technology," China's BeiDou-3 satellite system aims to provide global services upon completion in 2020. The system will eventually consist of 35 satellites (including 5 geosynchronous orbit satellites). Up to date, there have been 26 satellites in place. Given the record that China's Long March 3B orbital carrier rocket could launch up to 14 satellites in one year, the rest of the 9 satellites can easily finish the launch within a year. In other words, the deployment of BeiDou-3 will no doubt complete in time to meet the 2020 deadline.

   Judging from Xi's leadership style, PLA will inevitably be requested to implement various measures in 2020 to demonstrate the result of the restructuring of both the military leadership as well as the integrated joint operations command system. For the ranking officers lucky enough to get an accelerated promotion by Xi since the reform, military exercises are undoubtedly excellent opportunities to showcase their well-trained and capable troops and an excellent chance for their further promotion. On that account, the probabilities of PLA's large-scale joint military exercises in 2020 increase significantly. Particularly for the joint marine-air operations, the PLA Navy is due to enter the era of dual aircraft carriers in 2020. Although the 2 aircraft carriers have no combat capabilities yet, they can serve as the hub for extraterritorial marine-air operation exercises. China will be able to advance the operational front to the western Pacific, where China conducts the anti-intervention operations against U.S. forces. The joint operations of the Navy, Air Force, Rocket Forces, Strategic Support Forces, Maritime Police and Maritime Militia in the South China Sea hence become possible.

   Those joint operations help examine the integrality of China's military command mechanism. They provide opportunities to examine PLA's I.T. combat capabilities and the proficiency of the BeiDou system. Those are essential for extraterritorial battlefields, especially when the inter-troop command and control between battlefields require seamless integration among long-range radars, orbit satellites, drones, and marine-air platforms with battlefield steering functions that constitute a complete C2ISR system. Modern-day battlefield command is highly dependent on the space-based systems, while the navigation and positioning satellite functions are the soul of C2ISR. Without C2ISR, it won't be possible to integrate different combat units, firepower, and carriers to conduct joint operations according to actual battlefield circumstances. How to identify hostile targets, Coordinated combat, joint fire strikes, and avoidance of accidental attacks on friendly forces, all rely heavily on the C2ISR system. In other words, the integrality of the system decides the result of the battles.

   Therefore, the joint combat training drills conducted by the PLA in the western Pacific and the South China Sea examine not only the integrality of its joint combat command mechanism across the theater of operations but also the readiness of its C2ISR capability from its strategic support troops. It also inspects the coordination between the maritime police force and the militia. The progress of PLA's informatization, notably the efficiency of the BeiDou satellite system, will be in plain sight.

   Meanwhile, some other extrinsic factors are also in play. Both Taiwan and the United States are having their presidential elections in 2020. Before Taiwan's election, a certain degree of self-restraint from China can be expected. Besides, China has to consider the unfavorable weather conditions in the surrounding waters and the timing for China's annual military drills. Ergo, PLA's large-scale joint military exercises are more likely to be rolled out around May 20, the inauguration day of Taiwan's new presidency. The same goes for the U.S. presidential election. If Sino-US relations tense up after the election, the South China Sea will become more action-packed than ever. The chances of military confrontations between the U.S. and China in the South China Sea will increase, hence exacerbate the situation. However, Taiwan might get a break because of the tension in the South China Sea. Telling from Xi's management style, he tends to tackle one problem at a time, and hence the other areas surrounding China get to enjoy their status quo while Xi puts his undivided attention to his primary concern. It is what happened in the past in the Taiwan Strait, the Korean Peninsula, and the India borderline.

Conclusions and recommendations of Taiwan Perspective articles are solely those of their authors, and do not reflect the views of INPR.

Login

Login Success

2020年中共军事关注重心

   2020年是习近平自2015年11月发动军改之收关年,也是中共国防与军队现代化三步走发展战略之「基本实现机械化,信息化建设取得重大进展」阶段的验收年。此国防与军队建设两项重要任务,关系著解放军能否继续依照习近平所提在2035年基本实现国防和军队现代化、以及在本世纪中叶建成世界一流军队的建军目标。

   依据中共在2016年元旦公布之「中央军委关于深化国防和军队改革的意见」,此波改革之总体目标是 「牢牢把握“军委管总、战区主战、军种主建”的原则,以领导管理体制、联合作战指挥体制改革为重点,协调推进规模结构、政策制度和军民融合深度发展改革。2020年前,在领导管理体制、联合作战指挥体制改革上取得突破性进展,在优化规模结构、完善政策制度、推动军民融合深度发展等方面改革上取得重要成果,努力构建能够打赢信息化战争、有效履行使命任务的中国特色现代军事力量体系,进一步完善中国特色社会主义军事制度。」p>

   由上列军改总目标可知,2020年验收军改成果主要置重心于军队领导管理体制与联合作战指挥体制之变革是否符合习近平之要求。而在军改推动之初,中共中央军委即宣布取消四大总部,仿效美军与国军之联参制度成立15个隶属中央军委之办事机构、取消七大军区改成立五大战区、成立陆军领导机构、二炮部队升格成为火箭军、成立战略支援部队等「脖子以上」变革,解放军之军队领导管理体制和联合作战指挥体制确实已按照习近平要求之「军委管总、战区主战、军种主建」原则完成改革目标。

   另外在国防与军队现代化建设「三步走」发展战略上,习近平于中共十九大政治报告中修改了江泽民的发展期程,提出 「确保到2020年基本实现机械化、资讯化建设取得重大进展;力争到2035年基本实现国防和军队现代化;到本世纪中叶把人民军队全面建成世界一流军队。」

  此「2020年基本实现机械化,资讯化建设取得重大进展」的阶段目标上,中共自主研制的北斗卫星系统将在2020年全面建构完成,此北斗三号全球覆蓋卫星导航系统总共要建置35颗卫星,包括5颗地球同步轨道卫星,至目前为止卫星系统已有26颗卫星在轨。以中共长征3号系列火箭一年最多可进行14次卫星发射任务纪录视之,北斗系统剩余的9颗卫星应可在一年内发射完毕,北斗卫星系统应可在2020年依时程建置完成。

   因此2020年对解放军而言,是这两项重要建军政策目标是否达成之验收年。以习近平之领导作风,必然要求解放军实施各项足以证明新的军队领导管理体制与联合作战指挥体制之运作已趋成熟、以及军队已具备一定程度之信息化作战能力。对习近平军改后被快速破格提拔之「习家军」诸将领来说,以演训来证明自己领导的部队是一支听党指挥能打胜仗的人民军队,也是能否获得进一步晋升的表现机会。因此可预期2020年解放军从事大规模海空、陆空联合作战演训的机率将大为提高。尤其在海空联合作战演训方面,解放军海军2020年将进入双航母时代,即便两艘航母目前皆不具备战斗力,但解放军仍然可以运用这两艘航母作为境外海空联合作战演训之核心,将演训海空域前推至西太平洋执行对美军反介入作战之战区前缘,以及南海海域进行海军、空军、火箭军、战略支援部队、海警、海上民兵共同参与之联合作战演训,以验证军改后以战区主战为核心之联合作战指挥机制是否成熟。

   在西太平洋及南海海域进行海空联合作战演训,除了验证联合作战指挥机制外,亦借此类演训验证解放军资讯化作战能力之建置情形,以及北斗卫星系统之定位、导航、通信功能是否符合军队在境外远距战场上作战所需。尤其战区与战场作战部队之间的指挥管制,须要远程雷达、在轨卫星、无人机、以及在相关海空域具备战场指管功能之海空载台,构联完成战场C2ISR系统。而现代战场指管系统高度依赖天基系统,导航定位卫星系统更是现代化战场C2ISR系统之核心,现代化军队联合作战不同作战单元、不同火力、不同载台依据战场情势需求实施作战,如何辨别敌对目标、协同战斗、联合火力打击、避免误击友军,皆高度依赖资讯化之战场C2ISR系统,此系统完善与否直接影响联合作战之成效。 因此解放军在西太平洋及南海海域进行之联合作战演训,除验证海空火箭军兵力跨战区之作战指挥机制、战略支援部队提供战场C2ISR之能力、海警和海上民兵协同战斗指挥机制外,亦同时验证解放军资讯化建设之成果,尤其北斗卫星系统作为支撑战场C2ISR系统之核心效能。

   就外在安全环境视之,2020年年初是台湾总统大选年,年底则是美国总统大选年。中共在我国总统大选前应不会刻意以军事举动对台施加军事压力制造台海军事紧张,且考量台湾周边海域季节气候因素及配合解放军年度演训期程,大型海空联合演训应会在520总统就职前后逐一展开。而美国总统大选亦成为解放军明年是否出现年度演训活动以外之军事举动的重要变数,倘若中美关系趋向紧张,南海将成为双方军事举动较量之域,两军机舰在南海接近甚至对峙的机率将增加,可能升高南海紧张局势。若此则台海将趋于和缓,因为以习近平之作风,一次处理一件事态,当南海有事时,他会让其它中国周边区域维持和缓现状,以便专注处理已出现之事态。当南海有事,北京就会设法让台海、朝鲜半岛、中印边界维持平稳现状,不会再去制造其它事端。

马振坤 国防大学教授

台湾观点专文纯属作者个人观点并不代表本院立场。

登入

登入成功